The Newport Beach Bat Rays won a tournament in San Clemente.

The Newport Beach Bat Rays won a tournament in San Clemente. (Courtesy of the Newport Beach Bat Rays)

The Newport Beach 12U Bat Rays recently went undefeated in the Triple A USSSA Tournament in San Clemente.

The Bat Rays dominated, outscoring teams, 38-10.

They recorded mercy-rule victories the last three games, including the championship. Three of the four games were complete games by Bat Rays' pitchers. The manager was Robert Della Grotta and assistant coach was Noel Thompson.

Brian Rodrigues delivered outstanding pitching in the first game. Spencer Bazur also pitched well in the second game, as did third-game pitcher Joe Romero. Eric Kreuger brought home he win as the pitcher in the championship.

Leadoff hitter Max Foxcroft, Preston Hartsell, Matt Thompson, Carson Letterman, Ryan Sarvak, Tyler Flood, Blake Richter, Justin Welling and James Williams were among the hitters.

Rodrigues produced a complete-game one-hitter gem in a 4-3 win against So Cal Redwings 4-3 Foxcroft, Hartsell and Williams provided clutch hitting.

Saturday vs Irvine Pythons 14-1 (Mercy after four innings) Bazur threw three innings of no-hit ball and the game was called after four innings in a 14-1 mercy-rule win over the Irvine Pythons.

The Bat Rays also beat the Irvine Pythons by mercy rule, 11-3. Romero pitched a three-hitter.

Kreuger also had a three-hitter in a 9-1 win over the San Clemente Sea Dogs in the championship game.

— Reader submission


Cobras dominate

The Costa Mesa Cobras, an AYSO Region 120 U12 girls' soccer team, will be honored at the Friday city council meeting.

The team has compiled a 47-2-1 record over the past two years. The Cobras have given up less than 15 goals during the 50 matches.

More accomplishments include:

*An overall record of 47 wins, 2 losses, and 1 tie

*Less than 15 goals given up during the above 50 matches

*Back-to-back champions of the Costa Mesa Classic

*Back-to-back champions of the MacMillan Tournament

*Orange County Spring Classic champions