Al Irwin taught and coached at Newport Harbor for eight years. (DON LEACH, Daily Pilot / May 21, 2014)

Newport Harbor High School has announced its inaugural class of the Newport Harbor High School Hall of Fame.

The first class features 10 alumni and five faculty.

The alumni are Al Irwin, George James, Greg and Dr. Barbara Smith MacGillivray, Frank Marshall, Misty May-Treanor, Dr. Don Miyada, Jim Newkirk, Rear Admiral James Seely, George Yardley and Anthony Zerbe.

The faculty are Sidney Harold Davidson, Webster J. Jones, Ralph King Reed, Ruth Stover Fleming and Robert B. Wentz.

While Aaron Peirsol, the five-time Olympic gold medalist and world record holder in the 100- and 200-meter backstroke, is missing from this year's list, Principal Sean Boulton said the Backstroke King will be inducted next year.

Ten alumni and five faculty will be inducted annually, until the school is "caught up" for obvious choices, then each class for the Hall of Fame, a product of Boulton and the school's Alumni Assn., would include two alumni and one faculty.

Boulton said the Hall of Fame is a concept long overdue at a school with such a rich tradition.

"The first day I walked in [the school's Heritage Hall], I thought there needs to be more to speak to it because there is a significant history here at this school," he said.

He wants to enhance Heritage Hall and highlight the Hall of Fame in the building.

The first members of the Hall of Fame will be inducted in a special presentation at 11 a.m. June 19 in the school's main theater.

Seating at the public event is on a first-come first-served basis. Visitors can tour Heritage Hall, which chronicles 84 years of Harbor history through photos and memorabilia. The inductees will also be recognized at the school's official graduation at 4 p.m. that day on Davidson Field.


NHHS Hall of Fame bios

The following information was provided in a news release from Newport Harbor High School Principal Sean Boulton.


•Albert Irwin, Class of 1937, was Harbor's first four-year, five-sport letterman, and served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. He taught and coached at Harbor for eight years, and went on to coach football and swimming at Orange Coast College, and then swimming and water polo at UC Irvine, where he brought the men's water polo team to its first NCAA victory in 1965.

•George James, Class of 1950, innovated a new era in watercolor art while encouraging future artists as a professor at Cal State Fullerton. His work has been published in many magazines and books, and won awards from more than 60 prestigious art contests, including the National Watercolor Society's Silver Star.

•Greg and Barbara Smith MacGillivray, Class of 1963, innovative filmmakers and stewards of the environment, met at Harbor. Barbara worked with youth with the OC Health Care Agency, while Greg made successful surf documentaries, such as "Five Summer Stories." They went on to produce IMAX films like "To Fly" and "Everest," received two Academy Award nominations, and founded the One World, One Ocean campaign.

•Frank Marshall, Class of 1964, renowned movie producer and director, is known for his five Academy Awards, and films like the "Back to the Future" trilogy, "Empire of the Sun," the "Indiana Jones" trilogy, "The Sixth Sense," "Seabiscuit," "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," "War Horse," "Arachnophobia," "Eight Below," "Alive" and "Congo." He founded the Rock 'n' Roll Marathon, and served on the U.S. Olympic Committee.

•Misty May-Treanor, Class of 1995, three-time Olympic gold medalist in women's beach volleyball (2004, 2008, 2012), brought Harbor girls' volleyball two state championships from 1991-95, and Cal State Long Beach to an NCAA championship in 1998. She contributes her time to the Special Olympics, Make-A-Wish Foundation and her own educational and clinic work.