The Way, Way Back

An image from "The Way, Way Back," which won the audience award for feature film at the Newport Beach Film Festival this year. (May 3, 2013)

The votes are in for the winners of the 14th annual Newport Beach Film Festival.

The eight-day festival concluded Thursday with a closing night spotlight of "The Way, Way Back." The sold-out screening was hosted at the Regency Lido Theatre, with an after-party in the Via Lido courtyard.

According to organizers, this year's selection committee reviewed 2,700 films from around the globe, and then showcased 380 films, representing 50 countries.



Best Feature Film: "Fly Me To The Moon"

Best Actor: Sam Rockwell, "A Single Shot"

Best Actress: Diane Kruger, "Fly Me To The Moon"

Best Director: Pascal Chaumeil, "Fly Me To The Moon"

Best Cinematographer: Mihai Malaimaire, Jr., "The Time Being"

Best Screenplay: Laurent Zeitoun and Youann Gromb, "Fly Me To The Moon"

Best Feature Documentary Film: "Terms and Conditions May Apply"

Best Short Documentary Film: "Open Heart"

Best Short Animated Film: "Flamingo Pride"

Best Narrative Short Film: "Emily"



Audience Award Winner Feature (U.S.): "The Way, Way Back"

Audience Award Winner Feature (Foreign): "Cinco de Mayo: The Battle"

Audience Award Winner Documentary: "How To Make Money Selling Drugs"